The latest honours and awards from across the University.

Awards and appointments

Awards and honours

Queen’s Birthday Honours

A number University members were recognised:

Colin Blakemore, FRS, FMedSci, Emeritus Professor of Neuroscience and Emeritus Fellow of Magdalen College, was knighted for services to scientific research, policy and outreach.

Professor Martin Biddle, OBE, FBA, FSA, Emeritus Fellow of Hertford College, was made a CBE for services to archaeology.

John Simpson, Chief Editor of the Oxford English Dictionary (OED) at Oxford University Press and Emeritus Fellow of Kellogg College, was appointed OBE for services to literature.

Also honoured were:

John Pethica, FRS, Chief Scientific Adviser at the National Physical Laboratory, Vice-President of the Royal Society and Visiting Professor and former Professor of Materials Science (1996–2001) at Oxford, was knighted for services to science;

Richard Sorabji, CBE, FBA, Honorary Fellow of Wolfson College and former British Academy Research Professor at Oxford (1996–99), was knighted for services to philosophical scholarship.

Dr Damian Jenkins, lecturer in medicine and biomedical sciences at St Hugh’s College, was appointed MBE for his service as Major in the Royal Army Medical Corps.


Five leading figures from the worlds of science, the arts and religion received honorary degrees at Encaenia, the University’s annual honorary degree ceremony, held in the Sheldonian Theatre, at the end of Trinity term.

The Most Reverend Dr Katharine Jefferts Schori, Presiding Bishop of the Episcopal Church in the United States, was made an honorary Doctor of Divinity.

The artist and sculptor Sir Anish Kapoor, CBE, and the editor and co-founder of the New York Review of Books, Robert Silvers, were made honorary Doctors of Letters.

The chemist Professor Jean-Marie Lehn was made an honorary Doctor of Science.

The composer Sir Harrison Birtwistle, CH, RAM, was made an honorary Doctor of Music.

Royal Society Fellows

Six academics were elected fellows:

Dorothy Bishop, Professor of Developmental Neuropsychology, a Wellcome Principal Research Fellow at the Department of Experimental Psychology and a fellow of St John’s College.

Marian Stamp Dawkins, Professor of Animal Behaviour and emeritus fellow of Somerville College.

Liam Dolan, Sherardian Professor of Botany and Head of the Department of Plant Sciences. He is also Co-Director of the Plants for the 21st Century Institute at the Oxford Martin School and a fellow of Magdalen College.

Patrik Rorsman, Professor of Diabetic Medicine and a fellow of Harris Manchester College.

Professor Rajesh Thakker, May Professor of Medicine and a consultant physician at the Oxford Centre for Diabetes, Endocrinology and Metabolism. He is also a fellow of Somerville College.

Professor Anthony Watts, Professor of Marine Geology and Geophysics and a fellow of Wolfson College

British Academy Fellows

Nine of the 42 new fellows are from Oxford University, more than any other university. The newly elected fellows are:

Francesco Billari, Professor of Sociology and Demography and a fellow of Nuffield College.

Professor Susanne Bobzien, Professor of Philosophy and Senior Research Fellow, All Souls College.

Georgina Born, Professor of Music and Anthropology and a fellow of Mansfield College, Oxford.

Dr Susan Brigden, Reader in History and Langford Fellow and Tutor in History at Lincoln College.

Gavin Flood, Professor of Hindu Studies and Comparative Religion and Academic Director, Oxford Centre for Hindu Studies.

Henrietta Harrison, Professor of Modern Chinese Studies and Fellow of St Cross College.

Stephen Smith, Professor of History and Senior Research Fellow at All Souls College.

Cecilia Trifogli, Professor of Medieval Philosophy and fellow of All Souls College.

Sarah Whatmore, Professor of Environment and Public Policy and a fellow of Keble College.

New appointments


Holy Scripture

Markus Bockmuehl, Professor of Biblical and Early Christian Studies at Oxford, has been appointed Dean Ireland’s Professorship of the Exegesis of Holy Scripture and became a fellow of Keble College with effect from 1 October.

The contemporary Arab world

Marilyn L Booth, Iraq Professor of Arabic and Islamic Studies at the University of Edinburgh and Joint Director of the Centre for the Advanced Study of the Arab World, Universities of Durham, Edinburgh and Manchester, was appointed Khalid Bin Abdullah Al Saud Professor for the Study of the Contemporary Arab World and became a fellow of Magdalen College with effect from 1 September.


Arnaud Doucet, Professor and University Lecturer in the Department of Statistics at Oxford, was appointed Professor of Statistics and became a Fellow of Hertford College.

Corporate Law

Luca Enriques, Full Professor of Business Law at Luiss Guido Carli University, Rome, was appointed Allen and Overy Professor of Corporate Law and a fellow of Jesus College with effect from 1 October.


Carol Harrison, Professor of the History and Theology of the Latin West at the University of Durham, was appointed Lady Margaret Professor of Divinity and a canon of Christ Church with effect from January 2015.


Beata Javorcik, Professor of International Economics at Oxford, was appointed Professor of Economics and became a fellow of All Souls College with effect from 1 September.

Moral Philosophy

Jefferson McMahan, Professor of Philosophy at Rutgers University, USA, has been appointed White’s Professor of Moral Philosophy and became a fellow of Corpus Christi College with effect from 1 October.

Cognitive Neuroscience

Anna Nobre, Titular Professor in Cognitive Neuroscience at Oxford and Director of the Oxford Centre for Human Brain Activity, Department of Psychiatry at the Warneford Hospital, has been appointed Professor of Translational Cognitive Neuroscience and a fellow of St Catherine’s College with effect from 1 July.

Diabetic Medicine

Jeremy Tomlinson, Professor of Endocrinology, who is MRC Senior Clinical Fellow at the Centre for Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism at the University of Birmingham and Honorary Consultant Endocrinologist at Queen Elizabeth Hospital and Birmingham Women’s Hospital, Birmingham, was appointed Professor of Diabetic Medicine and became a fellow of Keble College with effect from 4 August.

Visiting Professorships

Peter McCullagh, FRS, Professor in the Department of Statistics at the University of Chicago, was appointed George Eastman Visiting Professor for 12 months from 1 October 2015 and will become a Fellow of Balliol College.

Piero L Olliaro, Leader, Intervention and Implementation Research, UNICEF/UNDP/WB/WHO Special Programme for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases, Geneva, was appointed Newton Abraham Visiting Professor in the Medical, Biological and Chemical Sciences and a fellow of Lincoln College for 12 months from 1 June.

Heads of House

Christ Church

The Queen has approved that the Revd Canon Professor Martyn William Percy, Principal of Ripon College, Cuddesdon, be appointed Dean in succession to the Very Revd Dr Christopher Andrew Lewis.

St Hilda’s College

Sir Gordon Duff, Lord Florey Professor of Molecular Medicine at the University of Sheffield, has been elected the eleventh Principal of St Hilda’s College with effect from August. Sir Gordon, an Oxford graduate, has had a distinguished career in medical research and as government adviser on a range of public health matters. He is currently Chair of the UK’s Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency. In 2007 he was knighted for services to the public health.

All images © Oxford University Images / Whitaker Studio.